Ranking 24 of the Major Fast Food Chains

 Ranking 24 of the Major Fast Food Chains

Fast Food. You can't get more american than fast food. It's pretty embarrassing, but that's the truth. I've said before that for me personally, you can't get anything better than a home-cooked meal from my amazing mom. Fast food can't even really compare to that, or a nice dine-in restaurant. But let's all agree that while there is definitely MUCH better, healthier food out there, fast food can actually be very convenient. Its quick, cheap, and some of it isn't half bad. Some of course, is much better than others. And that is what we are trying to determine today: The best fast food restaurant/restaurants. We are looking at this based on the value of the restaurant, menu diversity, service, and of course, the quality of the food. 

Keep in mind that while I love food, I have not been to every fast food restaurant, so some of your favorites might not be involved in this list. Some honorable mentions, or a LOT of honorable mentions: Five Guy's, Freddy's, Carl's Junior/Hardee's, Krystal, White Castle, Quiznos, Firehouse Subs, El Pollo Loco, PTerry's, Mighty Fine, Steak 'N' Shake, Shake Shack, Marcos Pizza, QDobas, Zaxby's, Panera Bread, Wienerschnitzel, A&W, Long John Silvers, Wingstop, Boston Market, Bojangles, Auntie Anne's, Checkers/Rally's, Jacks, Fuddruckers and Dell Taco. These aren't going to be involved because they are in other regions, don't have a lot of locations, or rather than being fast dining are rather casual dining. Now without further ado, here we go. 

24. Little Caesars 
Little Caesars is trash. Sorry everyone but it is the McDonald's of the fast food pizza. It is very cheap and affordable, but is it good? No. Little Caesars tastes like crap. The sauce tastes like root beer. No joke, it kinda does. Or something else, but it doesn't taste like it should. The crust is weak, chewy, and not good. And they have crappy toppings and cheese, and with all of that combined, it tastes really gross and greasy. It is easily one of the worst fast-food restaurants. The only good part about Little Caesars is their cheese bread, it's actually pretty good. Everything else? Plain garbage. And cold Little Caesars? Belongs in hell. But you cannot ignore the value. I believe it's 5 bucks for a pizza? College students, answer the call. However, it still tastes like trash. 
23. Arby's 
All of fast food is pretty gross, even the best of the best. Some is definitely grosser than others, like KFC, McDonald's, Taco Bell, and in this case, Arby's. Arby's is the grossest fast food chain. It tastes greasy and artificial. The only positive thing I can think of for Arby's is that they actually have great fries. They are one of the few chains that serve curly fries, and they are great curly fries at that. But that's it. They don't have very good chicken, their "classic" Beef 'n' Cheddar is nasty; The cheese tastes fake, meat and bread are flimsy, and their Arby's sauce is just spicy, runny ketchup. And besides those curly fries, nothing is that good. Arby's has a running joke for being, well, trash. And it is trash. Sorry Arby's fans. Didn't mean to disappoint all three of you. 
22. Subway
I personally am not the biggest "sub fan" so Jimmy John's, Jersey Mikes, Subway aren't as appealing to me as Chick-fil-A, Whataburger, or Dominos. That being said, Jimmy John's and Jersey Mikes are still pretty good. Is Subway? Ehhhhhh... not really. Sorry subway fans, but lets be honest: The quality of the food has gone down quite a bit, and some of the meat and stuff is just kinda gross. Especially the tuna. I'm not a psychopath so I would never get tuna fish at a fast food restaurant (or in general) but there is definitely something wrong with subway tuna. But there's just something about Subway, similar to Taco Bell, that just grosses me out. However, unlike Taco Bell, it's not necessarily "strangely good".  Again, maybe it's just because I'm not a sub guy, but I just don't really like Subway. I don't think any of their toppings are great, the bread isn't good either. And at a sub place, what else do you have? Cookies? Nah, I'd rather have some warm homemade cookies from mom than a fast food cookie. Sorry Subway, but you just feel kind of cheap. At least in my opinion.  
21. Burger King
I don't go to BK too much but I went recently to give it a taste test, and it wasn't that bad. Was it good? Nah. But it wasn't terrible. The whopper is one of the classic fast food staples, and it is actually a good burger. They have fresh veggies and the burger is pretty good, even if a little flimsy. I tried the impossible whopper, and it tasted more like meat than I thought it would, but you could sense at the end of each bite that it was fake meat. Still, that also outdid my expectations. I was disappointed a little with the Ch'King, the new chicken sandwich. People have been comparing it to Popeyes, and while it was an above average fast food chicken sandwich, I'll take Popeyes any day. It just lacked flavor. Come to think of it, a lot of Burger King lacked flavor. The fries are nice and warm but they have no taste of seasoning. The chicken nuggets were garbage; weak breading and gross, fake chicken. Overall Burger King was a decent restaurant but nothing to really get excited about. I miss being a child though so I could get a king's crown at a fast food restaurant. 

20. Papa John's
Papa John's is overrated in my book. I think it's probably third in core four fast food pizza, after Domino's and Pizza Hut and ahead of Little Caesars. There isn't really anything special about it, pretty crappy quality in general. Whether it be sauce, toppings, cheese, it's just decent quality, pretty similar to Pizza Hut. And Pizza Hut has a much better crust so that beats out Papa Johns. Not as many options as the top two as well. Only unique thing about Papa John's is their garlic butter which is pretty good. But if a dipping sauce is a restaurants, strongest quality, then that restaurant probably isn't very good. 
19. Sonic
Sonic is overrated. It's similar to DQ, in that people don't give the fast food a lot of credit but they do like the desserts. For me personally, I dislike the food AND the desserts. They have decent hot dogs/corn dogs, and pretty good sides (mozzarella sticks and tater tots are what come to mind). I don't love the burgers or fries. So overall, the food is average/below-average. But the desserts are overrated. The slushes are actually pretty good but are very sugary. And the shakes are not as good as people make them out. Why? Sonic is lazy. I ordered a peanut butter oreo shake. When I order that, I expect 1/2 ice cream, 1/4 oreo, and 1/4 warm peanut butter being drizzled in. But the oreo was spread out very thinly so it was barely noticeable, and there was only peanut butter on the top. so it was basically just custard with small hints of peanut butter and oreo. That is called being cheap and being lazy. I expect better, Sonic. I get the whole drive-in thing is pretty fun, and I enjoyed their old commercials with the cringy middle-aged white guys, but besides that, not much to respect from Sonic. 
18. Jack in the Box
Jack in the Box is like Wendy's but just with lesser quality. Tastes pretty greasy. They have fun menu items, but the quality of the burgers, fries, etc, are just not as good as other burger options. They don't have the dessert options like DQ or Sonic, and there burgers aren't as good as Culver's, Wendy's, or In-N-Out. 
17. Pizza Hut
It's pretty hard to rank Pizza restaurants because if they aren't super trash (little caesars) or super good, then they kinda fall into the middle. I like Domino's more than Pizza Hut just because their toppings are a little better, and they have more sauce/toppings choices. I think Pizza Hut does have some more fun overall options, like the Detroit-Style pizza, and I like their crust; It's crispy, crunchy, and buttery. I don't really love their cheese, and all fast food pizza sauce tastes pretty much the same, besides Little Caesars root beer sauce. The wings are pretty similar, as are the breads, but again, Pizza Hut can be pretty diverse in order options. They offer cinnamon bread, garlic bread, and cheese bread, if I remember correctly. So there isn't much to judge, I just prefer Domino's to Pizza Hut overall, based on just the classic pizzas. Because Domino's Pan pizza is great. 
16. KFC
KFC is a very classic fast food restaurant. And I think they do get a lot of unnecessary hate. That being said, their game has declined in the past few years. It used to be finger licking good because the food was so good and juicy that you just HAD to lick your fingers. Now it's finger licking good because its so greasy that you have to lick your fingers, at least if you don't have a napkin. Anyways, KFC has become very greasy and kind of gross in some areas of the fast food game, which is certainly disappointing. And like most fast food restaurants, especially fried chicken ones, their sides are nothing to write home about. The mashed potatoes are like artificial potato puree, the mac 'n' cheese tastes artificial, and I'm not even going to get into their coleslaw (On a side note, if you order coleslaw from a fast food restaurant, I'm sorry for your soul). They have pretty good chicken, and it is seasoned well, but like I said, it definitely doesn't help your stomach, and it's very greasy. And the biscuits aren't anything amazing either. But it's still not the worst, and they actually have a half-decent chicken sandwich. But like I said, they're not finger-licking good, at least for the right reasons. 
15. Taco Bell
Out of all of the restaurants on this list, Taco Bell is probably the one that has given me the most stomach problems, including even McDonald's. But for some reason, Taco Bell actually tastes kind of good? Not afterwards, but during the meal, Taco Bell is strangely not bad. The Cheesy Gordita Crunch, Crunchwrap Supreme, former Double Decker, Doritos Taco, those are all pretty good menu items. Do they all taste the same? Yes. Does everything else on the menu taste the same? Yes. Is it a good taste? Actually, some of it is. Kinda. I have no idea, Taco Bell is so confusing. My favorite menu item has to be the Cinnabon Delights, which are these crazy balls of dough with this cinnamon sugar goo, and they are deep-fried. So unhealthy but very tasty. Anyways, even though it all tastes the same, and even though it's pretty disgusting, Taco Bell actually isn't half bad. It is so weird. The FBI really has to check Taco Bell out because there is definitely some hidden conspiracy.  

14. Dairy Queen
Dairy Queen is known more for their desserts and less for their food, but I think the food is actually pretty underrated. It's still probably below average in the fast food realm but they have pretty good burgers, fries, and chicken. But it's not really anything to write home about. However, the desserts are definitely what is keeping DQ near the middle of the pack. Blizzards are an iconic fast food item and they are pretty legit. One of my biggest complaints with Sonic is how lazily they fill their shakes and concretes, so you barely get any toppings. Dairy Queen does a great job with this. They are always packed with tasty treats and they normally have pretty good seasonal items. So sub-par/half decent food, pretty legit dessert.  
13. McDonald's
McDonald's, MacDonald's, Mickey D's, whatever you want to call it, is definitely classic fast food. One of the largest corporations worldwide, McDonald's is very interesting. Is the food good? Not really. Is it decent? Probably. And is it cheap? Uh, definitely. So while some of it is garbage, like the plain hamburger/cheeseburger, filet-o-fish, and chicken sandwich, there are some pretty classic, not half-bad fast food items on their menu, like the Quarter Pounder, Big Mac, McFlurry. They also have some of the best fries in fast food, and some of the best classic soft-serve. The chicken nuggets? Meh. So while yes, McDonald's is known for being incredibly cheap and outright disgusting at some levels, they also have tremendous value, and they do have some pretty tasty menu items. 
12. Wendy's
Wendy's and McDonald's are pretty similar to me, but I would say Wendy's is probably a little better. McDonald's has much better fries; I'm not a fan of Wendy's fries and McDonald's fries are great, but Wendy's overall just has better quality food, while still having great value. The burgers pretty good and they actually have good bacon, which is rare in fast food. Their chicken nuggets are underrated, and they're one of the best things on the menu. And they really do have one of the most classic fast food desserts in the Frosty, which is simple but very iconic. So overall, Wendy's definitely has pretty good quality of food compared to the value. 

11. Jimmy John's 
Let's be honest, is the Jimmy John's vs Subway debate still a debate? I mean, Subway is definitely more iconic, but c'mon, Jimmy John's just has such better quality. The meat doesn't taste as fake, they have better bread, fresher veggies, just overall, well, better quality. And they really do have pretty great bread. To be fair Subway has good Italian herbs and cheese, but Jimmy John's white bread is pretty great. There really isn't much else to compare, for a sub chain. I mean, I prefer Jimmy John's Doritos? So simply just because of the better ingredients, and the more fresh taste, I think Jimmy John's is better than Subway. They also have their own custom chips, which is pretty cool. I don't see Subway doing that. 

10. Jersey Mike's Subs
I had Jersey Mike's recently and they are pretty hard to rank. They probably have the best subs out of the main three; Jimmy John's, Subway, and Jersey Mike's. But they are also way more expensive. You can get a footlong at Subway for the same price you can get a 6-inch at Jersey Mike's. And Jimmy John's is pretty close in quality but also cheaper. But dang, Jersey Mike's is pretty great. They have excellent, soft bread that tastes great, and they work hard on their ingredients and cooking. Great philly cheesesteaks, ham sandwiches, whatever, it's all pretty tasty and great quality fast food-wise. But again, it is a little pricey but it is probably worth it. I would probably pick Jimmy John's though because the quality is pretty similar and it is cheaper. 

9. Whataburger
Ah, Whataburger. The Texas icon. Those classic orange and white stripes definitely don't disappoint. Whataburger is very well rounded, and they always come up with unique burger ideas. Whether it be avocado burgers, patty melts, bbq burgers with bacon and onion rings, Whataburger has some of the best burgers in the fast food game. They also have pretty good fries and onion rings, and they also have fantastic and unique shakes. Overall, Whataburger has pretty value but has much more menu diversity than some of the other chains on this list. They are always creative with there burgers and sandwiches, and I give them a lot of credit there. So overall, they are very well-rounded, and they definitely hit the spot. 
8. Popeyes
When Popeyes brought back their chicken sandwich in I believe 2019, that brought the fast food world into the largest frenzy in the history of fast food. And that alone is very impressive, and I gotta say, it was well worth the hype. That chicken sandwich is one of the best items in all of fast food, along with the Frosty, Double Double, and the Blizzard. It is really fantastic. Popeyes also has very well seasoned, juicy chicken. And I don't really get a gross, greasy feel from Popeyes that I get from KFC. Though I also don't really love their sides, similar to KFC. It's just hard to mass produce a bunch of artificial coleslaw, mashed potatoes, and mac 'n' cheese, and at the same time, make it taste good. They do have better biscuits though, they are less dry and better cooked. So overall Popeyes just has better quality than KFC, and a freaking insane chicken sandwich. Note though, that with Chick-fil-A's great customer service, comes Popeyes's terrible customer service. The slowest line in fast food and the lamest employees. 
7. Domino's
Between the core four of fast food pizza (Domino's, Papa John's, Pizza Hut, and Little Caesars), I have Domino's as my favorite. They are much better than Little Caesars. Duh. Papa John's and Pizza Hut aren't as diverse in order options, and I think Domino's just has better quality. When I order pizza I want to select from a wide variety of quality ingredients and sauces. And Domino's delivers in that. Their pan pizza is phenomenal, especially for fast food. Buttery, crunchy yet soft crust. Amazing. They also have really good BBQ chicken pizza. Overall they are very well balanced, they have great cheese and crusts and toppings. My only complaint is they don't put a whole lot of sauce on sometimes, especially on pan pizza. So consistency is an issue. But that is probably true in all fast food pizza, I just get Domino's more often. But Domino's has great pizza, and for fast food pizza, what else is there to judge? Wings? Ehhh I guess. To me, fast food wings from a non wing place all taste pretty similar. So when we are going off pizza, Domino's is my go-to. 
6. Raising Cane's
The In-N-Out of fried chicken. Extremely simple, but very effective. This menu might be the most boring menu of all time, but man does it taste pretty good. The chicken tenders run the show and the sauce is a fantastic component alongside it; one of my favorite sauces in fast food along with Chick-fil-A's. And the texas toast, with it's iconic soft texture and buttery flavor, is a great side component. The coleslaw is, well, fast food coleslaw. Sooo... yeah. I actually don't love Raising Cane's fries. The crinkle cut is iconic but I prefer McDonald's, and Chick-fil-A fries. They just don't have that perfect crispy, yet soft consistency I'm going for. But still good. That's literally all I have to say about Raising Cane's because that's literally all they have. Chicken, fries, toast, and coleslaw. So very tasty and classic, but not enough options so not very fun to visit frequently. 
5. Chipotle
Chipotle is kind of hard to compare with these other restaraunts because they are very unique. Taco Bell is the only other mexican restaurant on this list and it honestly cannot even compare. Taco Bell tastes fake, greasy, and gross. But Chipotle is freaking legit. Super fresh food, I normally get steak but the other meats are also great. The tortillas aren't really insane but if you don't like them then the bowls are just as fantastic. Great meat, fantastic cilantro-lime rice, and they have some other unique stuff, like their corn salsa, which is great. I don't think they're the best overall but I do have to give them the "most fresh" award. These greasy burger and chicken places (and taco bell) can't compare. Maybe Panda Express and Jimmy John's maybe can, but Chipotle is fresh, unique, and delicious. 
4. Panda Express
Panda Express is hard to judge, at least in the fast food game, because it is very unique. So that means they do get some disrespect, but I actually really like Panda Express. They have great orange chicken, and they have some other pretty great chicken dishes. I don't really love their broccoli beef but like I said, most of what they have with chicken or shrimp is pretty delicious, like Kung Pao chicken, Honey Walnut shrimp, though I do really like their Beijing Beef. And they have pretty good chow mein, rice, and fried rice. Of course it doesn't taste amazing, like real chinese food, but for fast food, I would say its pretty good. Definitely above average.  
3. In-N-Out
Ahhh, good old In-N-Out. When did my fast food burger restaurant ranking, I put In-N-Out number one overall. I said that because of the delicious hamburgers, tasty shakes, and fun secret menu, they could beat out Culver' s for the no. 1 spot. Unfortunately, I forgot about the fries. In-N-Out is dropping for me on this list because of one reason: The fries. They taste like cardboard! I've heard you can ask for them well done, or crispy, or something, but whatever. You shouldn't have to customize your simple order of fries to make them good. In-N-Out does a fantastic job on their hamburgers and cheeseburgers, and they do a great job with well cooked, juicy meat, good toppings, etc. The Double Double is a classic in fast food. So those great burgers are what puts them near the top. But those cardboard fries are what's keeping them FROM the top. 
2. Culver's
Culver's is definitely one of the smaller, less-known restaurants on this list. But man, is it good. They are one of the rare fast food chains that have excellent sides AND burgers. Their classic butterburgers are a classic, and they always have crispy smash burgers and fresh toppings. Plus, they have great sides. Crinkle-cut fries, onion rings, and culver's cheese curds? *Chefs Kiss*. Best side in all of fast food. Also they have some dope pretzel balls. They also have nice, creamy custard, with fun and simple flavors. I really can't think of anything bad to say of Culver's. They are very well rounded with the burgers, sides, and desserts. I can't think of anything bad to say about them, all of their food is top-notch, delicious fast food. And wow, those cheese curds. But they aren't number one because...

1. Chick-fil-A
I love Chick-fil-A. I love it so much that I made a whole separate blog post just on why I think they are the best overall fast food experience. I won't dive that deep into it here, but I think they are one of the best fast food chains. They have this just really wholesome vibe that makes them fun to eat at, and they have excellent food that helps as well. A lot of fast food makes you feel gross and greasy, but I don't really feel that at Chick-fil-A. Maybe it's their classic lemonade, which is some of the best in the game. They have very well seasoned chicken, juicy and crispy. Great sandwiches, tenders, and nuggets. They have very respectful customer service and a great advertising gimme (Cows selling chikin? I mean c'mon!). And they have unique, super buttery and crispy waffle fries that would be perfect if they were salted just a little more. But I love Chick-fil-A. I can't think of much bad to say and I can think of so much good things to say. 
All right, that's all folks. I need a salad. 

Comments